Critical Care Western’s Competence Committee

Critical Care Western’s Competence Committee (CC) is a subcommittee of the Residency Program Committee (RPC) responsible for curation, collation and review of resident performance. The CC is also responsible for deciding whether trainees are progressing as expected and can graduate from one stage of training to the next. CC decisions are made by group consensus and are based on an in-depth examination of multiple sources of written feedback. These include:
  1. Entrustable Professional Activity (EPA) assessments
  2. In-training evaluation reports (ITERs)
  3. Procedure Logbook
  4. Academic half-day attendance (days attended / days available to attend)
  5. Charge nurse evaluations for MSICU, CCTC, & CSRU
  6. Junior resident evaluations
  7. Academic advisor reports
  8. Witnessed communication forms
  9. MCCKAP & Metrics exam results
  10. Internal SAQ test performance
  11. Scholarly project reports & feedback
  12. Presentation evaluations
  13. Other multisource evaluations submitted by the trainee (e.g. letters from families, emails from nurses… etc.)


The Competence Committee meets every two months for resident review. Review findings are then communicated in confidence with each resident and their academic advisor.

To further understand how the Competence Committee works, please review the Competence Committee’s Terms of Reference, and Policies & Procedures.

Competence Committee Terms of Reference 2020

Competence Committee Policies & Procedures 2020

To appeal a Competence Committee decision or report, please refer to the Competence Committee Policies and Procedures 2020 document (above) and the Assessment Appeals Policy Western 2018.

Assessment Appeals Policy Western 2018

Current Competence Committee Members (2021-2022):
  1. Paul Cameron (Competence Committee Chair)
  2. Ron Butler (Program Director)
  3. Ahmed Hegazy
  4. Rob Leeper
  5. Tina Mele
  6. John Basmaji
  7. Jeff Granton
  8. John Landau
  9. Anna Gunz (Pediatric Critical Care Medicine Program)
  10. Corey Hilliard (Program Administrator)